Scared Solid

Standard

Okay moms out there with little ones or who remember when their babies were little I have a confession to make: I’m scared solid! Elizabeth is 11 months old and is starting to enter the world of solid food eating, but I’m not ready for that yet.

I am completely the over-bearing mother who wants to spoon feed her kiddo until she has a mouth full of teeth. I somewhat remember feeding my older daughter Eleanor more solid foods when she was younger than Liz, but for some reason I’m scared of the solids for my sweet little girl.

So when I’m feeling apprehensive about something I do two things: pray and research.

God gives us our children and the responsibility to raise them in the way they should go. But we also need to remember (speaking to myself here) that God is in control of that little life. The control freak in me quite often forgets that there is a big God who isn’t just a big human, no He is the all knowing, ever present, Creator of all things kind of God!

So I have to remind myself to breath, use the wisdom and knowledge God has given me, and let go of a little control. You see, I think my fear with Liz eating solids is more wrapped up in the fact that she is becoming more independent and already needs me less. This isn’t easy for any mother. From allowing your child to feed themselves to giving your kid the keys to the car…..at some point we have to let go and let them grow…

Now that my emotional attachment to the problem at hand has been recognized and dealt with, and I have given control back over to God I move my attention on to my research. There are so many questions that go along with giving babies solids.

When? What? How much? How fast? Will it make them allergic? Blah blah blah blah blah blah!

I have found the best place to turn for answers to first year questions is the book: What to Expect The First Years, by Heidi Murkoff. This books give a lot of great advice and answers a ton of questions I have had when it comes to the first year of my kiddos life.

Image

According to Murkoff, “Most babies are not only eager but able to begin finger foods by the time they are seven to eight months old”(pg.387). Obviously there are certain foods that qualify in the early month of solid eating. Murkoff addresses this by stating that, “the foods that qualify for first finger-food honors are those that a baby can gum to swallowable consistency or that will dissolve in the mouth without chewing, and that have been well received in pureed form on earlier tries”(pg.387).

All babies are different and will reach the place of introducing solids at different times. My Elizabeth was not ready between seven and eight months. She was eating rice mixed with water and chunkier baby food, but used to spit out any form of a solid. Now, at eleven months, she is eating small bites of banana, sweet potatoes, mashed potatoes and level three baby food, which is VERY chunky. She also munches on snacks such Baby Mum-Mums. These things are awesome!

Image

So as you enter into the solid eating phase of your little one don’t get scared solid like I was. Give God the control, pray over your babies and their food, be wise- don’t leave a child unattended while eating, and do your research. If you have any questions on this topic or any advice to give feel free to leave a comment.

God Bless! Have a great week.

Leave a Reply

