Christian Atheist

Standard

The book, Christian Atheist, by Craig Groeschel is an excellent and life-challenging read, and I wanted to take the opportunity to type up a review of the main points found in this book. At first glance of the title, I was perplexed at the idea of Christian Atheism; could there really be such a thing? And then I read the book and realized not only does it exist, but it is rampant among those who claim to follow Christ.

The main concept of the book is that a Christian Atheist is someone who believes in God, but lives as though He doesn’t exist. The book takes a look at how this can take root in twelve different areas of our life. Here are a few of those areas of Christian Atheism that Groeschel digested:

When you believe in God but don’t really know Him

When you believe in God but don’t think He’s fair

When you believe in God but aren’t sure He loves you

When you believe in God but trust more in money

When you believe in God but pursue happiness at any cost

When you believe in God but not in His church

Throughout the book, I was challenged to take a look at different areas of my Christian walk to make sure that I wasn’t only believing but also trusting and following my Savior. James 2:19 says, “You believe that there is one God. Good! Even the demons believe that—and shudder.”

It takes more than believing to have a relationship with Christ. This book opened my eyes to that concept in such a new and important way. I do not want to merely say I believe, but have areas of my life that scream the opposite; I want to believe and for my life, in every way, to reflect the belief I have in Jesus Christ.

Christ desires for us to give Him all of who we are, not only parts of us. He wants us to surrender our money, our words, our weekends, our wardrobe, what we do and how we do it. He wants to be the center of it all. He doesn’t want to just be one aspect of who we are.

I know there have been times in my walk with Christ that I could have been classified as a Christian Atheist; what about you? Are you at a place in your relationship with Christ where you simply believe? Or are you daily dying to yourself and following Him in all you do and in all you are? We all have areas to grow in. I encourage you this week to be in prayer with God asking Him to reveal to you those areas of your life where you may not be fully following after Him.

If you have time to pick up this book, it’s an awesome read! Craig is a great writer, and is able to get across such deep revelations through humor and personal testimonies. I recently went through this book with the young adult small group I am over and they loved it.

If you have a chance to read it, or if you have already read it, let me know what you think.

God Bless! I hope you have enjoyed your Labor Day, I did that’s why this blog is being posted so late 😉

Leave a Reply

