Divine Hook-Up

Standard

About five years ago I encountered my first “Divine Hook-Up”. I was a young adult lady who had graduated college, was married, knew I believed in God but was still pretty far from His heart. I was at a fork in the road when it came to my walk with God. I was either going to take that next step on the path closer to God, or I was going to begin on a path that would lead me away from my Savior. I had been going to church for years and recently graduated from a Christian University, but I was still asking questions like: “what’s the point in going to church”, and “does it really matter if drinking is a part of my life”? I knew I wanted God to be a part of my life, but I didn’t understand how to go deeper with Him.

Then I met my first “Divine Hook-Up”, or in better words, a mentor. My life-changing mentor came in the form of Deven Wallace. She was the pastor’s wife at the church I had been attending for the past few months. I had been at the altar crying because I didn’t know what to do with the feelings God was giving me and the things He was trying to speak to my heart about that I just didn’t understand. That day she told me that “when I seek God in a secret place I will find Him and He will change me and begin to work through me.” She then went on to explain that a secret place is like a prayer closet, or a specific place where I go daily to seek out God in prayer and reading of the word and listening. But Deven didn’t stop there, after giving me a spiritual life change word of advice; she took me under her wing. I began to go to a women’s meeting where I felt the presence of God stronger than I have ever before. She pushed me to open one of those meetings with a quick word and prayer. I went to a women’s retreat where she continued to pour into me and where my spiritual life to a turn that has catapulted me to where I am today with Christ.

Deven was my first “Divine Hook-Up”. God placed her in my life to mentor me, by exampling to me what it looked like to go deeper in God than I had ever been. Years later, now I am a pastor’s wife of my own but knowing there was even more I needed guiding in. God very specifically aligned my path with that of Karen Yancey. Karen was studying to be a Christian Life-Coach and she asked if she could coach, or mentor in other words, me. I was so excited! Over the next year I met with Karen every other week for an hour. During those meetings Karen would ask me questions and then guide me into finding out my own answers. She led me down the path of realizing what God has called me to do. I look back on that time as priceless. Over those conversations, she poured into me and then allowed myself to discover what God had been putting in my heart over those past few years.

Life is hard. And so many times we find ourselves saying, “I wish I could talk to someone about x, y and z”, or wishing there was someone who could pour into us and help guide us along the way. That is what a mentor does. They align themselves next to a person and help them along the way, all the while encouraging them to grow closer to God.

There are a ton of examples of “Divine Hook-Ups” in the bible. In II Kings 2 you see the mentoring between Elisha and Elijah. In 1 Samuel 3 you see it between Samuel and Eli. In Esther 4:14 you see it between Esther and Mordeci. And then throughout the ministry of Jesus you see it very clear between Jesus and his disciples.

It is so important for each of us to find or create a “Divine Hook-Up” in our lives. We need to seek out someone who is where you want to be spiritually and then ask them to come alongside of you and pour into you. For them to be the person you can ask hard, embarrassing, practical and sometimes silly questions to, but knowing they will answer you in truth and in love from a Godly perspective. Someone you can reveal your biggest dreams and fears to, and they will spend time praying for you over those things. These “hook-ups” are the relationships that can change who we are for the better. They can lead us closer to God and bring us closer to the person we want to be.

I urge you that if you don’t have someone in your life right now that you could call a “divine hook-up” that you seek one out. Pray and ask God to open the door to you finding someone who will align themselves next to you and guide you through these years of young adulthood.

My main purpose in doing this blog is to have an outlet where I can pour into other young adult ladies. That is the area God has called me to. I know my life will be full of “divine hook-ups”. Some will be where others are pouring into me, and others will be where I have the honor to pour into others. My heart is mentoring. I know I’m still young, but I truly believe that as long as a person in one day further in life and one scripture ahead in the bible, then they can mentor the people one step behind them. Isn’t that what God has called us all to do anyways? Jesus said in Mathew 28:19, “Therefore go and make disciples of all nations”, being a disciple to someone else is a form of mentoring.

We need to link arms with the people around us. Each person should be holding onto the arm of someone in front of them and behind them. All of us being discipled and all of us discipling someone else. And at the beginning of this linking of arms is Jesus Christ, who is the great disciple. The one we should all be following!

If you need a mentor and don’t know of one in your life currently, I would be honored to fill that role for you. We can either FaceTime once every two weeks or we can connect through email. My email address is godgroceriesgirltalk@gmail.com send me an email and let me know in what way you would like to be personally mentored. It is best to be mentored face to face, but if that is not possible in your life right now, then I am more than willing to come up alongside of you and guide you in the areas I can.

God bless all of you ladies!

Coming up on Monday: Sharing your Faith

Leave a Reply

