Chicken Pot Pie

Standard

I decided that for today’s Grocery post I wanted to post on an old tried and true favorite recipe of my family. This Chicken Pot Pie recipe has gotten me through high school, college, pregnancies and marriage. It’s one of the things my husband requests the most and it was the only thing I begged my mom to make when I’d come back home after being gone for months to college. So I hope you will enjoy it as much as I have!

It’s a quite simple recipe and only partially homemade, which keeps it easy.

1 pack (10 ounce) frozen mixed veggies

1/3 cup butter or margarine

1/3 cup of All-Purpose flour

1/3 cup of chopped onion (optional)

1/2 teaspoon of salt

1/4 teaspoon of pepper

1 3/4 cup (or a whole can) of chicken broth (I use low sodium or homemade)

2/3 cup of milk

1 package of pie crust (I use the Pillsbury one)

2 1/2-3 cups of cooked cut up chicken

To make it easier I buy a precooked chicken and peel the meat off of it, then you have extra meat for another meal, or if you cook the crock-pot chicken I’ve blogged about you can get your chicken meat from that as well as your chicken broth!

Preheat the oven to 425, then rinse the frozen veggies and drain. Heat the butter in a 2 quart saucepan over medium heat until melted. Stir in flour, onion, salt and pepper. Cook stirring constantly until mixture is bubbly ( which usually happens right away). Remove from heat, stir in broth and milk. Heat to boiling, stirring constantly. Boil and stir 1 minute. Stir in chicken and veggies.

Put your crust in the bottom of the dish, I use a 9 3/4 X 9 3/4 X 2 inch dish. Pour in mixture, cover with second pie crust. Make a few slits, or get creative (I always write something sweet on it like I Love You). Put in oven uncovered for about 30-35 minutes.

My mouth is watering thinking about how yummy this is!! Think I will make it for dinner tonight!

Hope you enjoy! I usually make mac-n-cheese and a side veggie to go along with it, but the pot pie is enough by itself as well.

Coming up on Friday: A Divine Hook-Up!

Leave a Reply

