Pure in Heart

Standard

“Blessed are the pure in heart for they shall see God.” Matthew 5:8

I have heard often over the years, especially in church, that we should be pure in heart. But this has always seemed like just a nice Christian saying people use but rarely ever follow. I mean how is it even possible to be “pure in heart”? So I took a closer look into this topic to see what God desires from us and what He expects through a pure heart.

Quite often when I don’t understand the nuances of scripture I ask my husband, because he is a pastor, or I read sermons written on the topic that help break down the idea. I found a great sermon outlined on “Purity of Heart” on sermoncentral.com. If you have not checked out that website you should. Just type in the topic you’re wondering about and it pulls up all the sermons it has saved on that such topic.

The sermon I reviewed was written by Joseph Rodgers, and a lot of what I am going to say today comes from the information he put together.

“Blessed are the pure in heart for they shall see God.” Matthew 5:8. This verse is one of the BE-Attitudes listed in Matthew five.  Pastor Rodgers said that “each of these attitudes determines our altitude. They testify to our disposition and determination in life. Jesus offered these be-attitudes to remind us that God isn’t focused on man’s outward performance but with what is on the inside.”

The condition of our heart is very important to God, because unlike man, God can see into our inner core. He knows when we are just putting on an act and trying to appear our best. God doesn’t desire us to be like the Pharisees who were focused on the outward appearances and deeds.

Matthew 23:25-26 says, “Woe to you, teachers of the law and Pharisees, you hypocrites! You clean the outside of the cup and dish, but inside they are full of greed and self-indulgence. Blind Pharisee! First clean the inside of the cup and dish, and then the outside also will be clean.”

Purity of heart begins within. Pastor Rodgers said that, “A person with a passion for purity is one who has been cleansed in his character so that the way he looks in public is the way he is in private. You’re just like Jesus even when no one is watching.”

So knowing that, what do we do about it? How do we get our inside clean? For me, it started with prayer. I prayed for God to bring to my attention all of the impurities that are in my heart. Man that is a no fun prayer because it seems to be the one prayer God always answers! I started recognizing some junk in my life and in my heart that I needed to ask forgiveness for and then surrender to God. I started seeing a lot of shallowness in my compassion for others; I saw lots of selfishness and some envy as well.

My purification of heart has been an ongoing process for the last year and a half. I am in no way perfectly pure, but now I can say that I am striving daily to be closer to God, to be more like Christ and to be purer in heart.

“Since we’re surrounded by such a great cloud of witnesses, let us throw off everything that hinders and the sin that so easily entangles, and let us run with endurance the race marked out for us. Fixing our eyes on Jesus, the author and perfecter of our faith, who for the joy set before him endured the cross, scorning its shame, and sat down at the right hand of the throne of God. Consider him who endured such opposition from sinful men, so that you will not grow weary and lose heart.” Hebrews 12:1

This life we are living is much like a race. It is hard, and at times we all are going to get weary. But if we can fix our eyes on God, we can find strength through Him to get us past temptation. The things of this world are not worth losing an eternity to spend with our Father in Heaven.

“Blessed are those who are pure in heart for they shall see God.” Matthew 5:8

We have such promise in that verse. Yes it is hard to live a life pure in heart because we have to constantly be examining ourselves. Making ourselves vulnerable before God, and even giving up some of the temporary pleasures of this earth, but in the end, if we endure, we will get to see God!

Have a Blessed Day!

Coming up on Wednesday:Kids and School

Leave a Reply

