Worship

Standard

Reader’s Question: Is there a right way to worship God?

When most people hear the word worship they usually think of singing. And though singing is a major way to worship God, there are also many other ways as well. The question being addressed today is, “is there a right way to worship God?” Well before we can answer that question we need to figure out what worshiping God is all about.

I have been in church for many years; I started out as a child attending a Methodist church and then as a teenager I went to a large Nondenominational church and throughout my adult years I have attended Pentecostal churches, mostly Assembly of God based, so I have seen lots of different ways of worshiping God. I have seen people completely connected to God in genuine worship and I have seen people either totally disconnected to worship or faking it with the best of them. So what makes worship real and right?

Throughout the bible you can see people worshiping God through rejoicing. I know I have certainly shouted several Hallelujahs in my days while worshiping the creator of everything. To me, it is hard to not verbally express my adoration for the one who not only created the Heavens and the Earth but also gives me peace when my kiddos are on my last nerve. But besides rejoicing I have seen people worship God in reverence.

John 4:24 says, “God is spirit, and His worshipers must worship Him in the Spirit and in truth.”

To me, worshiping God in the Spirit is easy because that involves my emotions. When I am happy I can stomp out the best worship jig you’ve ever seen, but what about when life stinks? How am I able to continue worshiping Him then? That is when the “worship in truth” steps in. It’s when you praise God despite your circumstances because you know He is the same yesterday, today and forever. He has not changed; He is not shaken nor surprised by our state of being. The truth of His words still stands, so I can still worship.

This past year my ability to worship in truth was tested. I was diagnosed with breast cancer at 32 weeks pregnant. This was the second time I have had cancer. The first time I was eleven and I had bone cancer. Now I know I had made a deal with God at some point saying something like the following, “okay God I got through cancer the first time and I have given up a lot because of it, so from now on keep me healthy. I know you won’t allow me to get cancer again, right?” So when I found myself staring a broken deal in the face and the fear that comes with sickness, I had a decision to make. Was I only going to worship God in the good, or would I be a true worshipper?

I chose to worship God in Spirit and in truth. And I think that is what true worship looks like. It’s not all about the how, but the why. Why do you worship, because you’re happy, or is it because you have decided to be a follower of Christ and regardless of the here and now, you have chosen to give God your best.

Worship involves rejoicing regardless of the circumstances in our life; being reverent before the God of the universe, taking the time to pour ourselves out before Him and abiding in Him until He fills us back up. Worship isn’t a moment, it’s a lifestyle. It’s about aligning all that you do and all that you are to God.

I hope you all have a blessed week.

Coming up on Wednesday: The meal that keeps on giving

2 responses »

  1. To me anyway you worship God is neither wrong nor right. However, if you are worried about other people seeing you or judging you for how you are worshipping or even want people to see you then that is wrong to me.

    • I agree. Worship is between you and God. I do think though at times you have to make yourself vulnerable to God willing to worship in a way that might make you feel uncomfortable. For example, if you are used to worshiping more reverently but are going through a struggle, God might desire for you to lift your hands and verbally praise Him to break through a spiritual barrier or depression. Keep your focus on Christ, not yourself and certainly not others and your worship should line up with the desires God has for us.

Leave a Reply

